Home Page

Meet the Governors

Chartham Primary School

Governing Body

The governors are appointed in different ways: one is appointed by the LA; two are parent representatives; two are staff representatives, one of these being the headteacher and seven are co-opted governors.



Mrs C Parkin (Chair)

Mrs E Djemil

Mrs C Morgan



Staff Governors

Mr I Rudgyard

Mrs E Ribbans (Headteacher)*


Remit & Structure of the Governing Body

The purpose of the governing board is to:

Provide confident, strategic leadership and to create robust accountability, oversight and assurance for educational and financial performance.

The 3 core functions of the governing board are:

• Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction

• Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the performance management of staff

• Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent


The Governing Body Shall Consist of:


2 Parent Governors

1 Staff Governor

1 Headteacher

5 Co-opted Governors

Members of the Governing Body

Mrs Claire Parkin

Chair of Governors

Appointed by: Governing                             Body

Date Appointed: 30/09/2019

Term of Office: 4 Years

Business Interests: Canterbury Christchurch Employee - Research coordinator

                                Claire Parkin Interior Design - Business owner

                                 Kent Teaching Solutions - Agency Teacher

Mr Iain Rudgyard

Appointed by: Staff

Date Appointed:24/07/2019

Term of Office: 4 Years

Business Interests: Assistant Head Teacher at Chartham Primary

Position of Responsibility: Designated Training & Development Governor

Mr Dean Jones

Appointed by: LA

Date Appointed: 04/01/11

Term of Office: N/A

Business Interests: Executive Head Teacher of St. Stephen’s Infant Sch. and Governor at St. Stephen’s Infant School


A member of Inspira Academy Trust, a charitable company limited by guarantee incorporated in England and Wales, with company number 13188733.